

Yukon First Nations Self-Government Classroom Quiz

1. What year was the Umbrella Final

Agreement signed?

- a) 1973
- b) 1983
- c) 1993
- d) 2003

2. How many agreements do selfgoverning Yukon First Nations sign as part of their modern treaty?

- a) 1
- b) 2
- c) 3
- d) 4

3. How many Yukon First Nations have signed Final Agreements?

- a) 1
- b) 14
- c) 11
- d) 12

4. Identify all of the Yukon First Nations that have signed Final Agreements.

Carcross/Tagish First Nation Champagne and Aishihik First Nations First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun Kluane First Nation Kwanlin Dün First Nation Liard First Nation Little Salmon/Carmacks First Nation Ross River Dena Council Selkirk First Nation Ta'an Kwäch'än Council Teslin Tlingit Council Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation White River First Nation 5. Which two groups came together to form the Council of Indians in 1973 and later became the Council of Yukon First Nations?

6. How many square kilometers of Arctic wilderness is protected by the Vuntut National Park, that was established through the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation Final Agreement?

7. Kusawa Territorial Park is in which First Nations' Traditional Territories?

8. What activities and uses did First Nations People historically have for Huchá Hudän/Fort Selkirk?

9. Which river in the Yukon is designated as a Canadian Heritage River?

10. Name one of the 11 Boards and Committees that exist because of the Umbrella Final Agreement and First Nation Final Agreements?

Bonus trivia info!

In 1984, a settlement agreement was almost reached, but it was not accepted by Yukon First Nations in part because that settle agreement did not include selfgovernment.

Find this quiz online at: mappingtheway.ca/classroom-toolkit.

Request the quiz answers by sending an email to mappingtheway.ca@gmail.com.

Learn more at mappingthway.ca