The Yukon is a leader across Canada and around the world.

Eleven of the Yukon's fourteen First Nations have self-government agreements, which means the decision-making power is in the hands of First Nations to decide on their governance structure and membership and to make their own choices about how to deliver programs and services to their communities.

This can include making decisions around how to preserve their language, educate their students and build capacity among their citizens, develop new business partnerships, and others.

The power to create and enact laws

First Nations with self-government agreements have law-making authority in many areas, including: governance, social and economic development, education, health, lands and more.

A First Nations’ laws operate in harmony with federal and provincial laws and may take priority if there is a conflict among laws.

Self Government Can Take Many Forms

All 11 First Nations with modern treaties have their own constitution. Prior to signing their Final and Self-Government Agreements, each First Nations adopted a Constitution that sets out how the First Nation will govern itself. A constitution is a central document on the First Nation's goals, vision, membership, and government structure.

Because communities have different cultures, history and goals, there is not a single model of self-government. Arrangements take many forms based on the different historical, cultural, political and economic circumstances of the First Nations governments and communities involved.

With 11 ground-breaking land claim and self-government agreements, the Yukon is a leader across Canada and around the world

Settling these agreements involved decades of hard work, innovation and commitment by leaders and visionaries and are mapping the way to a better future for all Yukoners.

Learn more about the journey that brought us to where we are and continues today.