Voix de la vision: 
Yukon Aboriginal 
Self-Government

Le Yukon est une terre de pionniers de l'autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones. Depuis 1995, 11 des 14 Premières nations du Yukon sont devenues autonomes et représentent plus de la moitié du nombre total de Premières nations autonomes au pays. Dans cette série de balados, Voix de la vision : Autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones au Yukon, certaines des personnes clés ayant effectué le voyage continu vers l'autonomie gouvernementale et la mise en œuvre font part de leurs histoires, dans leurs propres mots.

La série de balados Voix de la vision : Autonomie gouvernementale des Autochtones au Yukon  a été créée en partenariat avec le Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon, le gouvernement du Yukon, le gouvernement du Canada et les Premières nations autonomes du Yukon.

EPISODE 5
An interview with Lesley McCullough

LESLEY MCCULLOUGH possède une vaste expérience juridique et stratégique de la gouvernance et des droits des Autochtones. Elle œuvre au sein du gouvernement du Yukon depuis 1992. Avant de devenir sous-ministre adjointe par intérim des services de tribunal et de réglementation, elle a occupé divers postes  au secrétariat...

EPISODE 10
An interview with Adeline Webber

ADELINE WEBBER a travaillé sans relâche en vue de la reconnaissance des droits des femmes autochtones. Citoyenne du Conseil des Teslin Tlingits dont le nom en tlingit est Kh'ayàdê, Adeline Webber a passé une très grande partie de sa carrière à la fonction publique fédérale, notamment à titre de directrice du district du...

EPISODE 9
An interview with Joe Linklater

Joe Linklater est un chef politique et un gestionnaire de programmes chevronné qui possède une vaste expérience de l'établissement et de la mise en œuvre de politiques publiques et de politiques sur l'autonomie des Premières nations. M. Linklater a occupé le poste de chef de la Première nation des Vuntut Gwitchins de...

EPISODE 8
An interview with Robert Hager

ROBERT Hager a grandi en poursuivant les pratiques traditionnelles, telles que la chasse, la pêche et le piégeage. À titre de citoyen de la Première nation Nacho Nyak Dun, M. Hager est fier du passé d'autonomie gouvernementale de cette dernière. Sa passion pour l'autonomie gouvernementale est l'un des principaux aspects de...

EPISODE 7
An interview with Hal Mehaffey

Hal Mehaffey a fondé Mehaffey Consulting en 1992 après avoir occupé pendant huit ans le poste de gestionnaire de bande de la Première nation de Nacho Nyak Dun, à Mayo (Yukon). M. Mehaffey se spécialise dans la négociation des ententes sur les revendications territoriales et sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, des plans de...

EPISODE 6
An interview with Doris McLean

Doris McLean est une leader au franc-parler dont le travail de défense des intérêts a bénéficié à de nombreux aspects de la vie au Yukon. Mme McLean, dont le nom tagish est Guna, possède des ancêtres tlingits et tagishs et fait partie du clan des Dakl'aweidis (Épaulard). Elle a travaillé sans relâche pour tenter de...

EPISODE 4
An interview with Angie Joseph-Rear

Angie Joseph-Rear a participé au processus d'autonomie gouvernementale à titre de chef, de conseillère et de membre de la collectivité. Son travail a permis de veiller à ce que l'entente sur la revendication territoriale des Tr'ondëk Hwëch'ins reflète les valeurs et les aspirations du peuple hän.

Mme Joseph-Rear a...

EPISODE 3
An interview with Sam Johnston

Aîné respecté des Teslin Tlingits, Sam Johnston a un parcours politique impressionnant. Il a été chef du conseil des Teslin Tlingits pendant plus de dix ans et membre de l'Assemblée législative du Yukon. Dans son rôle de président de cette Assemblée, M. Johnston bénéficie de la distinction que lui confère son titre de...

EPISODE 2
An interview with John Burdek

Transcription

00:00:00

MEAGAN PERRY : À votre avis, qu’apporte l’autonomie gouvernementale aux résidents du Yukon?

 

JOHN BURDEK : Bien, je ne...

EPISODE 1
An interview with Dave Joe

Dave Joe est citoyen des Premières nations de Champagne et d'Aishihik. Illustre avocat, M. Joe a été appelé au barreau du Yukon en 1977 et à celui de la Colombie-Britannique, en 1999. Il a été négociateur en chef auprès du Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon et d'un certain nombre de Premières nations au Canada. Il est...

Voices of Vision: 
Yukon Aboriginal 
Self-Government

The Yukon is a land of trailblazers in Aboriginal self-government. Since 1995, 11 of Yukon's 14 First Nations have become self-governing, and account for more than half of the national total of self-governing First Nations. In this podcast series, Voices of Vision: Yukon Aboriginal Self-Government, some of the key people who have been involved in the continuing journey of self-government and implementation share their stories in their own words.
The podcast series, Voices of Vision: Yukon Aboriginal Self-Government, was created in partnership with the Council of Yukon First Nations, the Government of Yukon, the Government of Canada and Self-Governing Yukon First Nations.

EPISODE 10
An interview with Adeline Webber

Adeline Webber has worked tirelessly toward the recognition and acknowledgement of Aboriginal women's rights. Adeline, a Teslin Tlingit Council citizen whose Tlingit name is Kh'ayàdê, spent a considerable portion of her career working in the federal public service, including serving as the Yukon district director of the...

EPISODE 9
An interview with Joe Linklater

Joe Linklater is a seasoned political leader and program manager with considerable experience in building and implementing public policy and First Nation self-governance. He held the position of Chief of the Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation from 1998 to 2010. Joe has contributed to successful intergovernmental relations at the...

EPISODE 8
An interview with Robert Hager

ROBERT Hager grew up following traditional pursuits such as hunting, fishing and trapping. As a citizen of the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun, Robert is proud of his First Nation's history of self-government. His passion for self-government was one of the key aspects of his long and fulfilling political career.  Robert...

EPISODE 7
An interview with Hal Mehaffey

Hal Mehaffey founded Mehaffey Consulting in 1992 after eight years as the Band Manager of the First Nation of Nacho Nyak Dun in Mayo, Yukon. Hal specializes in the negotiation of land claim and Self-Government Agreements, implementation plans and financial transfer agreements. He represented the First Nation of Nacho Nyak...

EPISODE 6
An interview with Doris McLean

Doris McLean is an outspoken leader and advocate whose work has touched many aspects of Yukon life. Doris, whose Tagish name is Guna, has both Tlingit and Tagish ancestry and belongs to the Dakl'aweidi (killer whale) clan. Doris has worked tirelessly to help preserve the Tagish language and restore Aboriginal rights. Doris...

EPISODE 5
An interview with Lesley McCullough

Lesley McCullough has extensive legal and policy experience in governance and Aboriginal rights. She has worked for the Government of Yukon since 1992. Before becoming acting Assistant Deputy Minister of Courts and Regulatory Services, she held a variety of positions at the Government of Yukon's Land Claims and...

EPISODE 4
An interview with Angie Joseph-Rear

Angie Joseph-Rear was active in the self-government process as a Chief, councillor and community member. Her work ensured the Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in's land claims agreement reflected the values and aspirations of the Hän people.

Angie was the Hän language teacher at Dawson City's Robert Service School for nearly a decade...

EPISODE 3
An interview with Sam Johnston

Sam Johnston is a well-respected Teslin Tlingit elder with an impressive political history. He served as Chief of the Teslin Tlingit Council for more than a decade, and was also a Member of the Yukon Legislative Assembly. Through his role as Speaker of the Yukon Legislative Assembly, Sam holds the distinction of being the...

EPISODE 2
An interview with John Burdek

John Burdek has long been a familiar face at many levels of government in the Yukon. Burdek, who was born in Dawson City, attended Lethbridge Community College and spent many years with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  He served as chairperson of the Ta'an Kwach'an Council, the First Nation of which he...

EPISODE 1
An interview with Dave Joe

Dave Joe is a citizen of Champagne and Aishihik First Nations. He is a distinguished lawyer who was called to the bar in 1977 in the Yukon and in 1999 in British Columbia. Dave has worked as chief negotiator for the Council of Yukon First Nations and a number of Canadian First Nations. He still acts as legal advisor for...